Ultimate Burgers – Pretzel Buns, Umami Flavor

Umami, the fifth flavor, meets Hamburger, the first priority. Together, they create the best stacker known to man – The Ultimate Burger. There’s nothing better than two foodies combining forces to assemble the best burger known to man.

On one of the first weeks here in Austin, I got together with my cousin Brad, and we decided to hop on-board the pretzel burger/pretzel bun train. So many fast-food chains have been introducing their normal classics on a toasted (soggy) all-American (manufactured and German) pretzel bun.

Mmm, looks foodspirational!

Mmm, looks foodspirational!

Mmm, good ol' A.T.L.C. :)

Mmm, good ol’ A.T.L.C. :)

I hope this isn't as soggy as the Chicago Dog... :(

I hope this isn’t as soggy as the Chicago Dog… :(

Well, it looks filling to my arteries, anyway ;)

Well, it looks filling to my arteries, anyway ;)

Needless to say, we definitely did a better job! Though, does that really make us look better? We’ll let you be the judge!

Ultimate Burger

1005239_10151741552957777_274474128_n

Ultimate Burger – The BK doesn’t stand for “Burger King” anymore! :)

Our Ultimate Umami Burger has:

  • Homemade Soft Pretzel Buns – The Baking Soda Method
  • Beefonnaise, featuring Avocado (Avocadobaconbeefonnaise, for short)
  • Homemade Guinness Stout Mustard
  • Soy infused Beef Patties (70/30 Chuck and 80/20 Sirloin) via sous-vide
  • Crispy Bacon
  • Sun-dried Tomato Ketchup
  • Sweet Red Onion slices, softened
  • Bibb/Butter Lettuce
  • Tender Tomato

I could have eaten 3,000 of those. :) The Pretzel Buns so were tender and sweet, AND they were even brushed with a little butter and grilled lightly; the meat was so juicy after having cooked in the sous-vide and then charred lightly on the grill. The bacon was gross – said no one ever, and the tender bibb lettuce was an excellent accompaniment with the patty and an even better contrast with the crisp vegetables. Recipes coming soon – maybe. I’ve been instructed to hold my Pretzel Bun Recipe close to my heart, near my lotto numbers!

Ciao per ora!

8 thoughts on “Ultimate Burgers – Pretzel Buns, Umami Flavor

    • I actually haven’t tried the ones from Wendy’s! I’ve heard good things, though, so that’s definitely a plus! :) If you try it, definitely come back and let me know!

  1. Looks really good! I think I’ve been living under a rock and not noticed pretzel buns. Hmm, maybe because I don’t eat fast food? Either way it looks amazing. Thanks for sharing! Xo

    • I barely eat fast food, especially after moving here to Austin! Everyone is SO healthy here, not to mention all of the good ingredients you can get at the stores here at amazing prices! It’s WAY better to stay home and cook and spend money on other nice things, like a night at the pub! Or that new iMac I’ve been eying. ;)

  2. Pingback: Healthy Soft Pretzels | Parisa's Kitchen

  3. Good luck with your blog and your new location!
    I would love to read the recipe for your ultimate burger, especially what you did with the sous-vide. I do lots of sous-vide and am always looking for new ideas to try and then blog about. I have some short ribs in my sous-vide 131 degrees as I write this ;-)

    • Hi Stefan!
      Thanks for the warm words of welcome! How did your ribs turn out? Well, I’ll have to coordinate with my ‘chefs’ to see if we’re sharing the recipe! Ha! But, as soon as I DO post it, I’ll be sure you’re the first to know about it! :)
      -Kiza

Leave a Reply

